Beatles - Ampex reel-to-reel tapes

Bootleg audio discussion for anything John, Paul, George and Ringo
powerPC

Beatles - Ampex reel-to-reel tapes

Post by powerPC »

These are probably fairly common now, but back in my “early” trading days these seemed to be highly sought after… at least I was always on the lookout for them. But with all of the newer Beatles remasters (and fantastic needle-drops), these are probably somewhat redundant and non-essential nowadays. However, if anyone here doesn’t already have them, I’m sharing these exactly as I received them (whether or not they are actually taken from Ampex reel tapes I do not know).

They sound very good, but I think there’s something a little “off” with the speed, or pitch, or something like that (obviously I’m not an audio expert LOL)… so if any of you audio gurus out there feel like doing any necessary corrections or adjustments, please feel free to do so and share it with this group (I’d LOVE this set in better sound quality if possible). :D

THE MILLENNIUM REMASTERS COLLECTION ["audiophile archival recordings 24 bit mastering"]

Volume 1:
Meet the Beatles (Capitol/Ampex L-2047)
Beatles Second Album (Capitol/Ampex L-2080)

hxxps://mega.nz/file/r54CFZDK#Vhda-cbrU ... XqChWDeod4

Volume 2:
Beatles '65 (Capitol/Ampex L-2228)
Beatles VI (Capitol/Ampex L-2358)

hxxps://mega.nz/file/S4pW3ZjA#8fUGOOmxk ... HxZcPmnUe0

Volume 3:
Something New (possibly Capitol Y2T-2382 on 3-3/4 IPS tape?)
[^This album was only issued on reel-to-reel format together with "Beatles VI. It went out of print by 1971 (see https://www.friktech.com/btls/tapes/rtr.pdf)]
Early Beatles (L-2309)

hxxps://mega.nz/file/71xwlJgZ#spgYuqE1H ... O9wNV0s8dQ

Volume 4:
Help! (Capitol/Ampex L-2386)
Rubber Soul (Capitol/Ampex L-2442)