DVDs or MP4 files ????

The place to discuss rare video of the Fabs
ruedabeat

DVDs or MP4 files ????

Post by ruedabeat »

With new technologies, better processors, more memory(RAM) and better machines, new and better transfers of films and videos are circulating by people who share their work(AdamBound, LordReith, Innerwreck, just to mention a few :o ), we can nowadays watch excelentes videos in great quality(not to mention all that stuff in HD,FHD or even 4K). I´ve been downloading some DVDs shared in the forum and I can say they are great compilations in "good" quality 8-) , but every time far away from the new standards.

My question is DVDs or MP4 files ???? :?: :?: :?: :)
alphabeatles

Re: DVDs or MP4 files ????

Post by alphabeatles »

Good topic! I am not a video expert but I understand that even DVDs are compressed from the original HD, and MP4s perhaps even further.

Though in my own experience with Handbrake, sometimes the MP4s look as good as the original DVDs, especially if the source material is rough to begin with.

In my own video collection (on an 8TB external drive) I have opted to go with MP4 for most everything except the core titles (Beatles Anthology, The McCartney Years and such). Otherwise they take up way too much room. And I don't do DVD discs anymore...

So the answer is, it depends on how you view the material (TV or computer) where you store it (computer or disc) and the quality of the material (a lot of boot video or even video sourced from VHS is not worthy of anything but MP4), so do some experimentation and see what works best for you.
yymca6

Post by yymca6 »

Let me put in my two pence.

I prefer to get the DVD version first (VIDEO_TS), especially with music films and/or videos.

Why? Because I can extract the audio files and listen to the music without having to bother with seeing the image.

Also because I can convert the VIDEO_TS anytime to MP4 or MKV or even M4A for Apple TV.