Usenet Beatles posts (tons of)

Bootleg audio discussion for anything John, Paul, George and Ringo
Lon Chaney III

Usenet Beatles posts (tons of)

Post by Lon Chaney III »

Some of you may not use, or have ever used, a news server to download stuff from newsgroups. It has been and still is an excellent source of Beatles unofficial stuff and has loads of FLAC and MP3 material. Direct downloads, fast and no need for a VPN - I've been using newsgroups for about 30 years now and consider it an essential resource. In order to access binary newsgroups you will need an account with a premium news server provider. I use Newshosting ($11 a month for unlimited downloads) and have been very satisfied with it. I have my post age set to something like 5000 so I get posts from 2008 onwards. It's not perfect and you may have to wade through a bunch of spam (which you can easily mass deleted, depending on the newsreader you use) but there is tons of good stuff available in the groups. No need to worry about seeders or deleted posts. It's a fantastic resourse that, for me, is still the best there is (excepting this fine forum of course!!).

Actually, that's not me being facetious, I'm sure many of the remixes/remaster on here never turn up on the news servers.

Hope this proves useful to someone on here.
aslak

Re: Usenet Beatles posts (tons of)

Post by aslak »

Hi,
I just became aware of this forum and joined - many thanks. Looks like I've been missing out on a goldmine.

Like you, I've been using usenet for years but, maybe because I don't use a premium news server, I don't see much Beatles material on mine and what is there is mixed in with lots of dubious looking stuff.
Am I looking in the wrong places? Grateful if you could give me some pointers. I find usenet newsgroups a handy and efficient way to download material. Would using binsearch or similar be better?